Who we are

Introducing Green Immo

A one-of-a-kind company in Belgium

Green Immo came into being as the result of several observations :

It therefore appeared self-evident that economic interests crossed with ecological interests and that a development project, which did not seek to optimize the use of primary resources, no longer made either economic or ecological sense.

Green Immo aims at developing buildings for housing, respecting strict energy performance criteria, going beyond the current requirements imposed by local governments. Moreover, the materials used are, as far as possible, sustainable; that is they respect the environment and are recyclable.

Development will be undertaken either via new construction or the renovation of old buildings, which perform poorly in energy terms.

Green Immo was set up in July 2007, at the same time as the acquisition of the site for the "GLOBE" project also presented on this website.

Esther Jakober, company founder

esther jakober

Esther Jakober, who was born in 1962 and trained in economics and finance, has had an “exemplary” career in the financial sector. After leaving her previous position as employee within a large Belgian finance group in 2005, she had the firm intention of establishing a professional venture which would create value for society as a whole.

After a sabbatical year, of which she took full advantage by travelling to the so-called underprivileged countries in Latin America and by following training in property development, she decided to establish a sustainable property development company. Outside of her professional career, property (renovation and building transformation) had always carried a particular interest for her, and the ecological side was triggered in visiting those countries where the excesses of our so called advanced companies are felt in the daily lives of local residents. In areas with fantastic countryside, everywhere we can observe the same factors; melting glaciers, species falling into extinction, forests decimated by uncontrolled exploitation of wood or oil, and the uprooting of local populations which follow in the wake and so on.

Property construction and use of limited planetary resources with one eye on the environment has more than ever become essential, and all of this within a regulatory framework favouring this type of environmental strategy and which makes it economically viable.

Green Immo - 41 rue Camille Lemonnier - 1050 Bruxelles Belgique - info@greenimmo.be

Qui sommes-nous ?

Présentation de Green immo

Une société unique en Belgique

La création de Green Immo est le résultat de plusieurs constats :

Il est donc apparu comme une évidence que l’intérêt économique rejoignait l’intérêt écologique, et qu’élaborer une promotion immobilière sans optimaliser l’emploi de ressources primaires n’avait plus de sens, ni économique, ni écologique.

Green Immo vise la promotion d’immeubles principalement destinés au logement, respectant des critères de performance énergétique stricts, allant au-delà des exigences actuelles imposées par les gouvernements locaux. Par ailleurs, les matériaux utilisés seront dans la mesure du possible durables, c’est-à-dire respectueux de l’environnement et recyclables.

La promotion s’effectuera soit par de la construction neuve, soit via la réhabilitation d’immeubles anciens et peu performants d’un point de vue énergétique.

Green Immo a été créée en juillet 2007, concomitamment à l’acquisition du terrain destiné au projet "GLOBE" présenté sur ce site.

La fondatrice, Esther Jakober

esther jakober

Née en 1962, de formation économique et financière, Esther Jakober a connu une carrière «modèle» dans le monde de la finance. Elle a quitté son dernier emploi de salariée dans un grand groupe financier belge en 2005 avec la ferme intention de mettre en place une activité professionnelle qui serait créatrice de valeur pour la société dans son ensemble.

Après une année sabbatique, mise à profit pour voyager dans des pays dits difficiles d’Amérique Latine et suivre une formation en promotion immobilière, elle a décidé de créer une société de promotion immobilière durable. En effet, en dehors de ses activités professionnelles, l’immobilier (rénovation, transformation d’immeubles) avait toujours suscité un intérêt certain, et le déclic écologique s’est produit dans des pays où les excès de nos sociétés dites évoluées se font sentir dans le quotidien des habitants locaux. Dans des régions aux paysages fantastiques, partout le même constat : les glaciers qui fondent, les espèces qui disparaissent, les forêts massacrées pour l’exploitation non contrôlée du bois ou du pétrole, et le déracinement des populations locales que cela entraîne….

La construction d’immeubles respectueux de l’environnement et des ressources limitées de la planète est dès lors apparue comme une évidence, le tout dans un contexte réglementaire favorisant ce type de démarche et la rendant économiquement possible.

Green Immo - 41 rue Camille Lemonnier - 1050 Bruxelles Belgique - info@greenimmo.be